top of page

Welcome to the
Tri-County Riders

Get ready to have some fun....

The Tri-County Riders is a riding club that serves Monterey, Santa Cruz and San Benito Counties. We hold our gymkhana shows on the 3rd weekend of the month and beginning in the spring we will host 2 day shows. In May & June we award high point prizes Saturday & Sunday. We also host a buckle show each spring where we award a silver buckle to the top rider in each division as a combined 2 day show.

Each year we host one very large show over Fourth of July weekend. “Firecracker Frenzy” is attended by riders from all over the state and at this event the top prize is a saddle to the winner in each of the 9 divisions and prizes to 15th place. We give prizes to as many placings as possible; this all depends on the generosity of our sponsors. We average 175+ riders at Firecracker Frenzy and 60 to 70 riders at our monthly shows.


Tri-County Riders is a 501c3 non-profit entity(EIN#47-1636797). We accept contributions and donations that are tax-deductible to the donor! We are here to serve our community, through our riders, local businesses and families.

Sponsorship opportunities can be found HERE

Tri-County Riders

Event Dates

2023/2024 Season

October 14 & 15

November 4th Year End Award Dinner

November 18 & 19

New Season (2023/2024)
Halloween flyers.jpg
Molly's Custom Silver 2.png


Gymkhana is the action packed, precision sport of the equestrian world. A good Gymkhana horse must have the speed of a race horse, the turning quickness and agility of a cutting horse and the control and responsiveness of the stock horse.

The word "Gymkhana" is thought to have originated in India, probably meaning "games on horseback". The English military, during the Colonial period, used horses for both transportation and military maneuvers. On Sunday afternoons, the Calvary would compete in horseback games to sharpen their horsemanship for war. Thus, Gymkhana had it's beginning.

bottom of page